Foundation History

The Lake Area Technical Institute Foundation was formed in 1992 as an independent, 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization created to encourage and accept private-sector gifts to the Institute.

Since that time, the Foundation has provided over $1 million in scholarship awards for students and has made substantial investments for facility and equipment enhancements at the Institute.

Today the Foundation’s focus is on ensuring Lake Area Technical Institute’s legacy of excellence continues by raising funds through an annual campaign in support of a scholarships, campus expansion and renovation project.

Mission Statement

Building a Better Lake Area Technical Institute

Vision Statement

  • Increase the understanding and appreciation for the institute.
  • Create, enhance and expand relationships to support the nation’s best Technical institute.
  • Assist the institute financially through scholarships, program enhancements and campus improvements.

To date, the Lake Area Tech Foundation has awarded over $1million in scholarship support.

Board Members

Craig Horn

ANZA, Incorporated/Persona, Inc.

President - Kris Munger

Jay Boomsma


Jen Pendley

Chamber of Commerce

Ryan Dede

Embrace Family Dentistry

Mark Dunn

First Premier Bank

Natalie Gauer

Avera Milbank

Brooks Jacobsen

Electronic Systems/Robotics Supervisor

Adam Koplin

Big Stone Power Plant

Mike Luken

Hoftiezer Real Estate

Paul Moore

Great Western Bank

Corey Mushitz

LATI Diesel/CAT ThinkBig Supervisor

Jan Schull

Building Products, Inc.

Jim Seurer

Glacial Lakes Energy, LLC

Jen VanLaecken

VanLaecken Orthodontics

Ex-Officio Members

Mike Cartney

LATI President

Diane Stiles

LATI Vice President

Tracy Hlavacek

Executive Director

Morgan Johnson

Foundation Development Officer

Brittany Rost

Administrative Assistant

LuAnn Strait

LATI Director of Student Services

Stuart Stein

Watertown School Board

Scott Weeldreyer

First PREMIER Bank

Contact Foundation


1201 Arrow Avenue
PO Box 730
Watertown, SD 57201

Call Us

Fax: 605.882.6347

Tracy Hlavacek

Executive Director
Ext. 268 or Email Tracy

Morgan Johnson

Foundation Development Officer/ Alumni Director
Ext. 308 or Email Morgan

Brittany Rost

Administrative Assistant
Ext. 292 or Email Brittany